There was this barren tree in the backyard when we first toured our home and the husband and I both wondered what it was.  Then the gardener we hired to clean the backyard (did I mention that the home was a foreclosure and the backyard wasn’t maintained for around 6 months and was overgrown)  said that it was an apple tree and I’ve been waiting impatiently for any signs of life from it ever since. And look what happened a week ago after the storm.

Surprise surprise...flowers in the apple tree

The tree was filled with flowers overnight.

For someone who grew up in a city, in a home that had no backyard and the only plants I’ve ever had in my home growing up were rose bushes in  pots on the balcony of our home.  Those are the only plants I knew how to take care of and rose bushes were the only ones I bought when the husband and I moved into our first apartment.

When we moved to a bigger apartment a couple of years later, I tried my hands at garlic, peppers and strawberries, but managed to keep only the strawberries alive and the fruit was never sweet and juicy.

This apple tree gives me hope, I’ve watched this tree for the past 5 months and there was nothing, and now suddenly it is blooming. It’s like there is a little heart inside the tree that keeps beating tick tock, tick tock, during the cold winter bidding time, not giving up, waiting for spring. I just wish that we humans all had the same resilience and perseverance and bounced back blooming from winters in our lives instead of withering out.

Now, the first thing the kids and I do when we wake up is to look outside our windows to check on the tree, my son has already requested apple jam and apple sauce and has even made a list of people who we need to share the fruit with. His gets so filled with excitement and sings Apple tree, apple tree, when will your apple fall on me?

